[2020 UPDATE] Mallorca 312 route + more: 34 things you need to know! Back to top
loader

Mallorca 312:
route info, how to prepare and more!

Mallorca 312 is fast becoming one of the most famous sportives in Europe. No surprise really, given it’s held in one of the world’s most spectacular cycling destinations on totally closed roads.

It’s also got a reputation for being one of the hardest amateur cycling events out there. In 2018 the full 312 km route included over 5,000m of climbing! That’s a big day out by anyone’s standards.

We’ve ridden the Mallorca 312 route and written this guide to help anyone that’s thinking of entering, or has entered and is looking for more information on what the event entails.

We hope you find it useful. 

Please let us know in the comments below - or by sharing it on social media!

[NOTE: EVENT POSTPONED FROM 25 APRIL 2020 to 10 OCTOBER 2020 DUE TO CORONAVIRUS - MORE DETAILS BELOW.]

contents

Supported by

Stolen Goat kit partner logo

Note: We will try to keep our guide updated as new information is published about the 2020 event but, if you're in any doubt, please rely on information from the final official 2020 riders pack/event information and rules. This guide does not cover everything contained in those documents - you should read them! 

Mallorca 312 and coronavirus (COVID-19): the event has been postponed to 10 October 2020. The organisation issued an announcement on Wednesday 18 March 2020, part of which reads: 

"Mallorca 312 Organization has been working and analyzing the different scenarios that allow us to develop the race in the safest way possible by protecting the health of all the participants. After the latest events in the context of the CoVid-19, the WHO, the Health Institutions and Authorities recommendations about the convenience of celebrating the event on April 25 as planned, we are forced to postpone the race. The new date for the 11th edition of the Mallorca 312 has been postponed to October 10, 2020. The objective is none other than to offer our registrants the possibility of enjoying this day on the calendar, and ensure their attendance at a safe cycling event, and thus collaborate as an Organization in this international sporting event, thus preventing the virus from spreading. For this reason, the date has been postponed to next autumn, when the most desired Mallorca 312 will take place celebrating its first edition, 11 years ago.

Those registered participants have their bib number secure for the new date and will receive an email indicating how to proceed and confirm their participation.

Those participants who cannot attend the new date, the Organization offers different alternatives and how to proceed:  

You can transfer your bib number to any other Milestone Series events: Eifel 205 (August 22) or Bästad 198 (September 13).

Transfer your bib number to a friend or family member.

We have enabled a market place as a meeting point, where those registered who cannot participate can put their bib up for sale so that an interested party can access the platform and purchase it directly."

The full statement is here.


1. Overview

Cyclists completing sportive cycling event

Mallorca 312 has a great reputation for camaraderie (credit: suttterstock.com/Susan Leggett)

View over the Serra Tramuntana coastline from the Ma-10 on the Mallorca 312 route

Classic views down the Serra Tramuntana coastline

What is Mallorca 312?

Mallorca 312 is an annual closed-road sportive/gran fondo that takes place in and around the Serra Tramuntana mountains of Mallorca, Spain.

When is Mallorca 312?

The event happens at the end of April each year. The Mallorca 312 date for 2020 is 25 April (in 2019 it was on 27 April and 2018 on 28 April).

Where does Mallorca 312 start?

The ride starts in Playa de Muro, a resort on the island’s northeast coast between Port d’Alcúdia and Can Picafort.

It's a 40 minute drive (roughly) between the start and the airport.

What is the Mallorca 312 entry fee?

The price for the Mallorca 312 entry 2020 is between 80 and 90 euros (you can pay more for a VIP Mallorca 312 cycling package). In 2019 the Mallorca 312 price was 75 euros (with the first entrants receiving a discounted price).

On top of that, you’ll need to pay for temporary event insurance (12 euros) unless you’re a member of the RFEC (Spanish Cycling Federation).

How many riders do the Mallorca 312 sportive?

8,000 riders registered for both the 2019 and 2020 Mallorca 312.

Can you give me a brief Mallorca 312 review/overview?

Mallorca 312 is a 312 km (194 mile) loop of the Serra Tramuntana mountains as well as a loop out to the northeast of the island.

The route takes in some of Mallorca’s finest roads, including Col de Femenia, Puig Major (descent) and the spectacular MA-10 (including our favourite section from Banyalbufar to Andratx).

The first 150km contains nearly all the climbing; it’s mentally good to know that once you’re halfway through there are no major climbs left to tackle. It would be wrong to say it’s downhill all the way home - but you get the idea!

Check “What are your favourite parts of the Mallorca 312 route” for our highlights.

tell me about the different routes?

Mallorca 312 routes 2019 (credit: www.mallorca312.com)

You can find the official route map for Mallorca 312 2020 here, but sadly there's no nice overlay showing the different 2020 routes on one map. However, given the distances/elevations are exactly the same for 2020 compared with 2019, we think the routes must be pretty similar.


Choose between:

  • Mallorca 167
  • Mallorca 225
  • Mallorca 312

See “How hard is Mallorca 312?” for details of the distance and elevation gain for each course.

The map gives an overview of how the routes differ. Basically:

  • the 167 is a picturesque loop of the Serra Tramuntana between Port de Pollença and Esporles;
  • the 225 adds on an extra section to take in Banyalbufar and Andratx; and
  • the 312 adds on an extra section out to Artà.

It might be useful to know that the MA-10 between Banyalbufar and Andratx is an absolute gem and one of our absolute favourite roads in Mallorca (you can read our effusive praise of it here). If you’re choosing your route on looks alone, we think the 225 contains the most bang for your buck on a beauty per mile basis!

For the 2019 event, the rider instructions stated "you can choose your distance while riding, taking the indicated detour" - so it sounds like you can leave it until the event itself to decide on which course you take. 

How hard is Mallorca 312?

Hard.

Here are some stats:

Kilometres and metres of climbing:

167 km

2,475 m

225 km

3,973 m

312 km

5,050 m

% of Mallorca 312 finishers for 2016 and 2017 (which is when the course moved from around the island to its current incarnation - we haven't been able to find figures for later years...):

2016 - 92%

2017 - 78%



2. Entry

Cyclist climbing col on the Mallorca 312 route

Mallorca 312 offers three great routes

Cyclists descending at speed

Want to do Mallorca 312? Get organised! (credit: shutterstock.com/Cucumber Images)

What's the Mallorca 312 entry process?

Entry into Mallorca 312 is via their website at the end of the October preceding the event in April.

In 2019, entries for the 2020 event opened on 8 October. (For reference, in 2018, entries for the 2019 event opened on 9 October).

It’s a good idea to follow Mallorca 312 on social media in September/October so you’re aware of the opening date. Mallorca 312 entries sell out very quickly - see How difficult is it to get a Mallorca 312 entry? below.

How difficult is it to get a 312 Mallorca 2020 entry?

The 2020 event sold all 8,000 places in just 13 hours! (For reference, the 2019 event sold out in less than a week (6,000 of the 8,000 spaces were sold in the first day entry was open on 9 October 2018)).

So, in short, you need to be quick to get a space.

That said, there are usually some travel agencies with additional spaces that continue to offer packages including entry, accommodation and transfer, even after the direct, entry-only spaces have sold out. You can check out our review of Mallorca cycle tour operators, here.

There's also a waiting list you can check out, here.

What's included in the Mallorca 312 2020 entry fee?

Entry includes an official jersey, which you’re encouraged to wear on the ride.

The fee also includes food and drink at the feed stations, a finisher medal (assuming you finish within the timeframe) and plate of pasta and drink at the end.

Here's a screenshot from the official Milestone Series registration website:

Mallorca 312 registration 2020 details


3. Registration

What's the Mallorca 312 registration 2020 process?

Check the rider’s schedule/pack that is distributed before the event for the registration procedure for the particular year.

For the 2020 event, the rules state you have to pick up your bib number and participant bag from the Playa de Muro municipal building on either the Thursday or Friday before the event on the Saturday, between 9 am and 9 pm. 

In 2019 the rules required you to bring:

  • Your bib number (emailed to you)
  • Your identity card or passport
  • Your RFEC (Spanish Cycling Federation) license (if you did not pay for the one day insurance).

Participants were given a welcome bag which includes:

  • Bib number with integrated chip and straps (which you should attach to your handlebars)
  • Official jersey (which they recommend wearing)
  • Emergency card (which they say to take with you)

Note: You are not allowed to delegate the registration/bib number pick up. You yourself have to appear with your valid ID card or passport.

Also, the 2020 rules state: "All participants during the race must display the bicycle plate and the bib in a mandatory and visible manner. Any participants who do not place their plates or bibs in a visible manner will be eliminated from the race."


4. Preparation

Cyclist filling water bottle in preparation for mallorca 312

Considering your fuelling strategy is an essential part of preparation for the 312 (credit: shutterstock.com/Stefaniya Gutovska)

Bike hire Port de Pollensa Mallorca

If you want to hire a bike, get your booking in nice and early!

How to train for Mallorca 312? Do I need a Mallorca 312 training plan?

Mallorca 312 is an event you need to train for - even the shortest course involves nearly 2,500m of climbing.

The question of how to train will, of course, depend on you, how much time you have, what your objective is for how fast you want to ride the course and how fit you are already.

You can either create your own training plan or there are lots of companies happy to sell you an off-the-peg Mallorca 312 training plan - just take a look on Training Peaks.

If you want some tailored advice on training for Mallorca 312, you may want to invest in bespoke coaching. Finding the right coach is key. We’ve been trained by Matt Bottrill Performance Training in the past and really rate their services.

Can I get bike rental for the event?

As something of a cycling mecca, you won’t be surprised to hear that there are lots of companies willing to rent you a bike in Mallorca. Our guide to cycling Mallorca has details of many of them.

However, with 8,000 cyclists descending on the island, you’ll want to book your bike early to ensure you get the bike you want.

Not sure whether to rent or take your own? Read our tips, here.

What are the best hotels for Mallorca 312?

The event starts and finishes in Playa de Muro, on the northeast coast of Mallorca. The resort is between C’an Picafort and Port de Alcúdia. This stretch of coastline has loads of accommodation options, so you should find something to suit your taste and wallet, especially if you book ahead.

Bear in mind that most of the 8,000 people taking part (plus those travelling with them) will be staying on this stretch of coastline. If you’d rather stay somewhere less busy, an alternative would be to base yourself in Pollença old town, Port de Pollença or somewhere further afield.

You can check out our opinion of different resorts in Mallorca in this post, or the Accommodation section of our Mallorca guide has our top picks.

What's Mallorca weather like in April?

It should be settled and warm.

As the weather warms up and moves into Spring, the cycling season gets back into gear. Peak season is March to May. Obviously being at the end of April, Mallorca 312 is slap bang in this middle of this period.

Average highs sit at around 23°C, with average lows at 15°C. On average there are four rainy days per month and 36mm of rain. There’s more information on weather in Mallorca, Spain in our guide, here.

Of course, while everyone hopes that the weather is warm and dry, there is always the possibility of a cold snap or rain so packing a pair of arm warmers and a jacket is no bad idea. Our packing list may help.

Is there any mandatory kit for Mallorca 312?

A helmet is a mandatory requirement. They also recommend (but don't require) you wearing the official jersey.

You can only use a "conventional road bicycle" with brakes on both wheels. This excludes fixies, ebikes and "bicycles with fixtures" (for this the rules give the example of bikes with jumping supports and triathlon bikes).

What should I wear for the event?

We would suggest you don't start experimenting with new kit on event day. Wear clothes you know work for you and are going to keep you comfortable.

In terms of what kit to wear, bib shorts, jersey and socks will be the basic kit you need. However, bear in mind that the race starts in the early morning when it's likely to be around 15°C or so - maybe even colder if you want to get there super early to get to the front of the start pens (more on that below). It could be a good idea to take a bin bag or one of those emergency space blankets to the start line to give yourself a bit of protection as you wait... 

You might also want to consider full gloves, arm warmers and a gilet or light jacket. It's a balancing act, as you'll likely want to take them off after the first hill and might not want too much extra weight with you for the day, but as you eat the food stashed in your pockets, there should be room for the extra kit. Checking the forecast may help you make the decision! 

Any tips for the night before?

Get an early night! You should be fine finding dinner at 7pm (even though you're in Spain, you're in tourist-central!). We'd suggest laying out your kit and checking your lights, phone and GPS are all charged. It's a long day so we'd also suggest making sure your phone and GPS are in power save mode and that you turn off all non essential features. 


5. The event

What are your favourite parts of the Mallorca 312 route?


Coll de femenia
Road up the Col de Femenia on Mallorca 312 route

On the way up Col de Femenia

View of rocky cliffs by side of road on route of Mallorca 312

Look at that road surface!

Appears on the Mallorca 167, 225 and 312 routes.

It’s the first climb of the day, and it’s a cracker. Smooth tarmac combines with sweeping bends and impressive scenery: huge grey boulders dot the valley and enormous, imposing cliffs tower above you. It’s an 8km climb that takes you to 515m at an average 6% gradient. It’s a superb way to start the day!

There’s more on the Coll de Femenia in our Femenia and Batalla loop guide.



Estellencs coast
Estellencs coastline on route of Mallorca 312

Not sure our photos, on this overcast day at dusk, do justice to this incredible stretch of coastline!

Cyclist riding route of Mallorca 312

Dramatic riding along the Ma-10

Appears on the Mallorca 225 and 312 routes.

The MA-10 is blessed with tremendously beautiful views - and for us, the best section of it is between Banyalbufar and after Estellencs, before it turns inland. The road hugs the coastline’s vertical cliffs, dominated by the mighty Puig des Galatzó (1,008m) and offers up far-reaching views down the jagged coast and out to sea. Around the pretty towns, you come across centuries-old terraces bordered by stone walls that still hold olive groves, vineyards and orchards.

In terms of terrain, it’s a bit of a rollercoaster, but there’s nothing too steep or tricky. If we had to pick one favourite section above all others, this would be it.

We’ve written more about this stretch of coastline in our Andratx to Pollenca cycling route guide.


Stone-walled lanes around alarÓ
Cyclist riding along a lane near Alaro on Mallorca 312 route

The beautiful lane just oustide Alaró, with the mountain marking Coll d'Orient in the distance

Village on the cyclist's route of Mallorca 312 sportive

Coming into Selva

Appears on the Mallorca 167, 225 and 312 routes.

The narrow stone-wall lined lanes between Alaró and Campanet are, quite simply, gorgeous. To your left, you get glimpses of the Serra Tramuntana mountains as you weave between almond groves, vineyards and olive trees.

Once you’re on these roads, you know the worst of the climbing is over and you can enjoy the pretty landscapes of Mallorca’s interior.


Hidden valley on the MA-3321 near Petra
Road down to valley

A magical road leading off the Ma-3330

Cyclist descending around corner on Mallorca 312 route

Descending down the Ma-3321 between Petra and Artà

Appears on 312 route.

You turn off the main road from Petra and onto the MA-3321 which takes you on a narrow road from the top of a ridge into a quiet valley that feels a million miles from anywhere.

There are a few quite technical hairpins to contend with and some fabulous views across to the hills beyond. The valley comes after a long section of weaving through flat, agricultural fields of the El Pla depression - and we found this change in scenery part of the charm.


Danger

Note: take heed of the information in your riders pack on dangerous sections of the course - though of course, as with any event, there will be many potentially dangerous sections in addition to these. In particular:

In 2019, the rider information stated "Please pay attention to the dangers sections. These are indicated very clearly by the organizers. Take extreme precautions at - descent Puig Major: km 54.7 of all three courses. - descent Sa Vall: km 250.5 of the Mallorca 312."

Anecdotally, we've heard that at 57.5 miles there's a nasty turn with smooth tarmac that catches out a lot of riders.  It's a sweeping righthand bend that goes into a hard left turn.

There's also a potentially dodgy righthand turn on the descent of Galilea towards Puigpunyent. 

Also take particular care on the treelined roads around Andratx in the afternoon sun. We've heard the asphalt heats up and becomes pretty slick which can cause traction problems...

Finally, as of February 2020, it seems rumble strips have been installed on the descent of the Puig Major before Soller. Take care. More info here.

Is Mallorca 312 on Strava?

Yes! Why not join the Mallorca 312 Strava club, here.

Is there a Mallorca 312 GPX file?

You can download the GPX route from the Mallorca 312 website.

Please bear in mind that the final course route may change for 2020. Also, the event is on closed roads - this route may go contrary to the road traffic requirements so if you use the GPX route on open roads comply with the rules of the road!

Are the riders sent off in waves?

In 2019, there were no waves; riders queued up in order of arrival. There is a VIP/fast-pass entry that gets you into a front pen, but you have to get the special entry for that.

For 2019 the organisers advised riders to check their start box before the start - but the instructions also said that at 6:30am "Participants are called to the start line in front of 312 Bike House at EXPO zone. The access will be from the rear in order of arrival." The notes also say "After riding the first 26km together in the peloton, each cyclist can ride at his/her own pace, always following the traffic rules."

It's possible that the organisers will change things for 2020, but we heard from riders that did the 2019 event that in order to get to the front of the start and avoid a big delay on your start time, you needed to get to the event much earlier than the 6:30am referred to in the instructions. Think more like 5am. See the comments at the bottom of this article for more information. 

How long does Mallorca 312 take to complete?

If you're wondering how many hours Mallorca 312 takes to ride, for the 2019 event, the rider instructions noted that the event starts at 7am and the first finisher was expected at 4:20pm for the full 312, at 2pm for the 225 distance and 12:10pm for the 167 course. Obviously these were estimated times.

So, if you're expecting to be one of the fastest around then you're looking at roughly 9.5 hours for Mallorca 312, 7 hours for Mallorca 225 and 5 hours for Mallorca 167.

Also, assuming the course remains roughly the same in 2020, these times from 2019 should help:

312 distance:

Fastest man: eight hours and forty nine minutes.

First woman: ten hours and thirty seven minutes.

225 distance:

Fastest man: six hours and thirty two minutes.

Fastest woman: seven hours and fourteen minutes.

167 distance:

Fastest man: four hours and forty-one minutes

Fastest woman: five hours and six minutes

What are the Mallorca 312 cut off times?

The Mallorca 312 cut off time is 14 hours for the 312 distance (you have to be back by 9pm) - which means you’ll need to ride at an average speed of 22km/h (14mph).

There's a 10 hour time limit for the two shorter routes (you have to be back by 5pm).

The Mallorca 312 time limit rules are quite strict. The 2020 rules state that there are intermediate "elimination control points" which you have to pass through by a certain time, regardless of what time you start the race.

The rules go on to say: "Participants who do not arrive as such checkpoints on time must leave the race on a mandatory basis, by using the assistance bus, or, if he/she is excluded from the race, and becomes a regular user of the public road system under his/her responsibility. Excluded participants will not receive any type of assistance from the organization if he/she decides to continue on their bike. For this reason, excluded participants must hand in their bicycle bib, abandon the race, or if possible, and in the case of the Mallorca 225 and the Mallorca 312races, continue the Mallorca 167 race, or in the case of the Mallorca 312 race, continue the Mallorca 225 race."

In previous years there have been a group of cyclists with green dotted jerseys that set the 14 hour pace. Behind them is a sweep bus/motorcycle. If the sweep bus/motorcycle pass you then you are eliminated.  

In 2019, we understand the cut off time was midday at around 60 miles for the 225 and 312 courses. Bear in mind that if there's an accident or some other event, the riders may be stopped. Where that's happened in the past, no changes have been made to the cut-off times... Check our comments above for getting to the start line early!

And finally, here are a few tips for getting around without blowing up!

  • Think aero and make sure kit is snug and zips are done up - sounds minor but this kind of drag can make a lot of difference over a day of riding! 
  • Don't go crazy on the early climbs. It's tempting to go full gas as it's the start of the day and there will undoubtedly be fast riders around you, but there's a long way to ride!
  • Train for the event! This is not an event to do with no miles in the legs! 

Does Mallorca 312 use time chips?

Yes. The chips should be located on your number, which should be attached to the front of your handlebars. The rules state that the chip won't work if it is in direct contact with the bike or if it is placed anywhere else.

The rules state "Participants who do not have the plates cannot received a diploma. The time control system has demonstrated to be reliable and participants who do not pass all the control points will be automatically disqualified: scheduled time of departure, arrival and other control points located along the race."


Where are the feed, toilet and mechanical stations on the course?

Check the up-to-date riders information pack for the year you’re riding.

For 2020, these are the service stations listed on the official website. All provide toilets, feeding station with food and drinks, plus mechanical assistance (except as otherwise stated):

Mallorca 312

Mallorca 225

Mallorca 167

55.2 Puig Major (no food)

55.2 Puig Major (unclear whether food provided*)

55.2 Puig Major  (unclear whether food provided*)

93.1 Coll den Claret (unclear whether food provided*)

100.5 Coll de sa Bastida

93.1 Coll den Claret

135.3 Es Capdella

135.3 Es Capdella

134.8 Lloseta (also medical)

192.7 Lloseta (also medical)

192.7 Lloseta (also medical)

241 Ariany

285.2 Artà

* It's unclear whether food is provided at these stops, as the Altimetry document says it is, but the Rutometer document says it's not...

The options to buy food/drink en route are limited as there are barely any shops/villages on the course. Where there are shops, by the time you've realised it was one you'll probably have whizzed past and can't turn back...

From having spoken to people that have done the event, here are a few tips that might be of use:

  • consider taking an extra disposable water pouch with you so you don't have to stop at the first station at 55km
  • bring a plastic sandwich bag so that when you get to the feed station, you can get what you want in one go and don't have to keep going back and forth 
  • take enough food with you from the stations to fuel you on to the next stop
  • if you're in danger of missing the cutoffs and riding on alone, make sure you have enough food and water as the feed stations will have packed up and gone by the time you get there.

What food is available at the feed stations?

In 2019, the rider information stated:

Feed stations with drinks will provide

- water

- coca-cola

- isotonic drink (Nutrixxion)

Feed stations wtih drinks and food will also have

- energy bars and gels (Nutrixxion)

- ham sandwiches

- fruit, nuts and cakes

- sunscreen

However remember money and a mobile phone for use if necessary!

Is there any mechanical and medical assistance available en route?

The 2020 rules say that medical assistance will be available at several fixed posts, at the arrival point and in the sweep up bus. Mechanical assistance will also be available at fixed points on the course. The cost of spare parts will be paid by participants.

Those fixed points are mentioned above.

Anecdotally, we've heard it can be tricky finding mechanical assistance and of course there may be a long wait... definitely bring your multitool, spare tubes etc and know how to use them! 

Is there a Mallorca 312 tracking app?

Yes - at least there was one in the 2018 and 2019 events, so we imagine this will also be available for future years.

In 2019 the app was called My112 and was available on IOS and Android.

Do you have any suggestions for fuelling Mallorca 312?

Apple and cinnamon porridge pot from simpyseedz: an unusual christmas gift!

Porridge makes a great start to a long day cycling

Black and white water bottle in use by cyclist

Think about hydration!

Start the day with a big breakfast. The 2020 event starts at 7 am so that means you’ll want to be eating from around 5 am in order to have time for your food to settle before the start. Consider food that’s high in carbohydrates and low in fat, plus some protein if possible; we’d opt for something like porridge or bircher muesli followed by an omelette. Start hydrating with regular sips of a water bottle. We always add a hydration tablet in it to help ensure our electrolytes are kept in balance.

While you may not feel hungry after that big breakfast, it’s essential to fuel from the start of the ride. A good rule of thumb is 60g per hour, and many people set a timer for every 20-30 minutes to remind them to drink and take on some food regularly. Doing this is particularly sensible on Mallorca 312 since many of the most demanding climbs are in the first half of the race.

We’d suggest waiting for the latter stages of the race to crack into the caffeine gels; we find gels a bit much early on, but by the end, they’ll give you a much-needed boost just when you need it!

How much you’ve packed in your pockets and your particular fuelling strategy will dictate how many feed/drink stations you need to stop at. You’ll need to balance the impact of stopping at feed stations on your time with the fact you may not get around if you don’t re-fuel! Planning what you’re going to eat every 20-30 minutes and trying those things on training rides will help you get this right.

Where do I find the Mallorca 312 results?

The results should be posted on the Mallorca 312 website.


Where can I find the event rules?

On the Milestone Series website, here. You should definitely read these; there's a lot here that we don't cover in this article, for example penalties, ways you can be eliminated and the organisers' exclusions of liability!


6. Other

Cyclist pedalling in a granfondo event
Road to Puerto de Valldemossa Mallorca is perfect for cyclists

I’ve seen reference to 312 Giant Taiwan. Is that the same as Mallorca 312?

Yes. Giant and Taiwan are the principal sponsors of the event.

Is this an international event?

Yes! In 2018, Mallorca 312 organisers reported that the 8,000 participants came from 59 countries around the world.  

36.2% of participants were from the UK, 35.9% were from Spain, and 10.7% were from Germany.

Any suggestions for Mallorca cycling routes for before/after the 312?


Our top 3 routes article, article on tips for riding in Mallorca, where to stay and Mallorca's best coffee shops might also be of interest.

Our ultimate Mallorca guide that we mentioned above also has tons of information on accommodation, bike hire, the weather in Mallorca, Mallorca cycling maps and more!


Good luck!

Keep in touch and let us know how it goes! We'd love to see your photos and hear your stories - comment below or get in touch on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

And, if you haven't already, don't forget to check out our ultimate guide to cycling Mallorca which includes 15 guides to some of the best rides, plus info on where to stay and tips for riding this amazing island. 


Like the kit we're wearing?

We're proud to be kit partners with Stolen Goat.


Their kit is fantastic quality and we love their bold, bright designs. Their customer service is second to none.


Find out how we got to know Stolen Goat and read our candid kit reviews here.


What to do next

Check out Stolen Goat yourself at www.stolengoat.com 


YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Sa Calobra climb,
Mallorca
Your unmissable guide to riding the Sa Calobra climb, Mallorca. It's the one you want to conquer if you're cycling Mallorca. Read on to find out how.
Coll de Soller, Mallorca
(from north and south)
Your essential guide to cycling Coll de Soller, Mallorca from both the north and south. Read on to start planning your ride, now!
Cap de Formentor cycling loop,
Mallorca
Your detailed guide to cycling the incredible Cap de Formentor, Mallorca. Read on for inspiration and practical tips!
  • Andy D says:

    just back from Mallorca312. The start is an absolute farce! we arrived to the start queue at 6:30am ready for the 7am roll out in our bid to ride the full 312km. After freezing our nuts off for over an hour without moving, we eventually crossed the start gate at 7.40am, losing an unrecoverable 40minutes from our overall time, we missed the cut off to the 312/225 at the 135 miles split point by 20 minutes. Feeling really deflated and short changed by the whole thing. Were riding well, trained all year and denied our 312 goal by the start fiasco! This event in its current format is unable to cope with the volume of 8000 riders in a mass start with one start time!

    • Clare from Epic Road Rides says:

      Hi Andy, that sounds extremely frustrating. Sorry to hear about your experience – and I guess it sounds like that (unless they change things next year) people need to arrive really early to bag a place near the front… Thanks for sharing this, it might be useful for others. Best wishes, Clare

      • Shane K says:

        Yeah – the start of the 2019 edition was a bit of a nightmare to be honest – whilst in 2018 there were two holding pens (one either side of the road) to release riders, in 2019 there was only a single holding pen – so it filled up much more quickly and took longer to get through than the previous year – it didn’t help that lots of people (i.e. latecomers) were squeezing up along the footpaths at the side whilst everyone who made the effort to arrive early waited patiently on the road – leading to even more congestion at the front. Not sure what the reason was for reducing the two holding pens down to one – maybe safety – to reduce the numbers of people being released onto the road at any given time – I know there are a lot of roundabouts and junctions at the start to negotiate and have seen people come off there – or could just be to cause less traffic disruption? The cut-offs times are pretty aggressive so you can’t really afford to be waiting around to long to cross the start line – as Andy has said, it can be quite frustrating, especially if you’ve put lots of effort/training to prepare for the event, only to be denied doing the full distance due to circumstances outside your control.

        Make no mistake about it, the Mallorca 312 is a great event – but the organisation at the start does need to be improved – perhaps releasing 312 riders first, followed by 225 riders, then 167 riders. I did provide similar feedback to the organisers and they have acknowledged that its something they’re aware of and looking into – only time will tell if they can solve the issues for the 2020 edition.

        (Great article by the way!)

        • Clare from Epic Road Rides says:

          Thanks for your insights. It does sound like it was a frustrating start. Hopefully the organisers will take note! Thanks again for taking the time to comment and for your kind note about our article. Best wishes! Clare

  • Paul Hume says:

    I’ve only just come across this web site and me and my mates also suffered the same fate. We arrived at the start very early having ridden from Pollenca old town. We also stood for well over an hour and crossed the start line at about 7:35. All of us had trained hard right through the UK winter and we were riding well. I’d worked out a strategy using Best Bike Split and we were bang on target and ahead of my time in 2018 when I just to say made it. To say we were gutted when we were turned away at the second cut off point is an understatement as this just wasn’t our fault. We finished the middle distance instead and at the finish I could hear many, many people complaining about the same thing.

    As Shane K has said, the 312 is brilliant otherwise we wouldn’t be doing it again but this really does need sorting out.

    • Clare from Epic Road Rides says:

      Sorry to hear about your experience, it must have been gutting for you. Would you do the event again? What time do you estimate you’d need to get to the start line to get off quicker?

  • Given the large number of cyclists riding in Mallorca throughout April, how does the event impact those cyclists not participating in the event on the 25th of April. Given its limited and sold out, we are hoping our day will not be clipped as we plan to ride from Soller in the late AM – so not to interfere.

    • Clare from Epic Road Rides says:

      Hi Greg, I had a chat with the very knowledgeable Ottilie (from OQ Service Course in Port de Pollenca) and she confirmed that riding from Sóller on that day may be the worst day in the calendar to ride near Soller as all 9,000 riders will be passing through between 9 and somewhere around lunchtime… Might be best to take it as a rest chill day or ride in the afternoon? Ottilie says it won’t be getting dark till around 8:45pm – so plenty of time to get a nice cruisey afternoon spin in when it’s much quieter. Hope that helps you!

  • Jim Billingham says:

    Hi, my experience from doing the full 312 in 2019 and to give some tips if your an older/ steady rider. Is there food at the stops? There is lots of food at all the feed stops with lots of volunteers handing stuff out. At the final stop (which is like a carnival so don’t think you’ve reached the finish!) they even opened lots of coke cans to make it flat. This really helped me, I filled both bottles up with flat coke and it helped me to push on. Making the cut offs. This is just my experience, I’m not saying anyone is right or wrong! I trained hard from October right through to the race with a coach helping me plan sessions. Including 2 150 mile rides and 2 visits to the Peak District. I am just a steady rider, 57 years old but like climbing. 2 weeks after the 312 I did the Fred Whitton in 8hrs 10 minutes, my 10 mile TT pb is 24.39. That might give you some comparison to your level of fitness. On the day- I had 2 large bottles in the frame and 2 bottles in a carrier behind the saddle. So that’s 2 with water with tabs, 1bottle absolutely full of gel (then you don’t need to open packets on route and you just have little sips of gel as you go.) 1 bottle with tyre(2), air (3), hanger, levers, compact tool kit. Pockets- I pocket left empty to take high quality breathable rain jacket, I wore this at the start as it gets chilly waiting. I did notice some people wore old t shirts and discarded them as they started. 1 with phone and slow release unopened energy bars, 1 full of opened energy bars. You get the drift, I was loaded to make very few stops. 1st feed station- don’t stop, then all bar the last station get off bike, get water and WHITE bread sandwich, add tab to water and get back to riding. Tuck sandwich in front of jacket, ride steadily for a mile and eat sandwich on the go. Last station- it was VERY crowded, try to get to the edge of the square away from the crowd. As noted before, just took on 2 bottles of flat coke at this stop. I was tired, the early climbing was easy for me but the elevation map is very misleading!! The last 60 miles look flat on the map and they are in relation to the early parts but they are not flat. However it gets better! After the last stop it’s wide roads and smooth tarmac, just one long steady pull out of the town then you can empty your tank as it’s pretty much flat or often downhill. I had latched on to trains for a bit on the ride but be careful, if they are way above your level it may not be worth the energy spent and another train will come along! I got into a 4 person group for over 30 miles and we rode turn about until a feed stop which was great but be prepared some people will just refuse to take the front. Remember you’re not there to be everyone else’s Ian Stannard! Ride your own pace. I really enjoyed the whole event ( I was there from the Thursday and went back on the Monday) and highly recommend it. My total time including stops was 13hrs and 6seconds so I made the cut off which was my target. To answer the obvious question and I’ll be absolutely honest, I’m not sure I had another 6 seconds in my legs! Lastly I had a spare battery pack taped to my stem in case my Wahoo ran out, it’s a ride you really want recorded😃 hope that helps.
    Jim

    • Clare from Epic Road Rides says:

      Hi Jim, this is really useful information, thanks so much for taking the time to share it. It really helps to get different people’s perspectives and insights on the event. Shame it’s been postponed this year – but got everything crossed it will happen in October. Will you be doing it again then? Thanks again and best wishes, Clare

      • Jim Billingham says:

        Thanks Clare.
        Yes I hope to return. Now I’ve ticked the full 312 off will probably do the shorter one to take in more of the atmosphere. 👍

  • >
    <-- -->